Man vs Machine: A Rumble in the (Urban) Jungle

By Anthony

This is dated. Perhaps you’ve already heard. In fact, I’m certain you have, provided you’re living in the New York metro area. For the rest of you, though, this may come as some gruesome news. I’ll excuse my lateness with the haughty claim that I am providing you with superior reflection and analysis, which only come when time has lapsed. I’ve also been preoccupied with the aftereffects of my decision, not entirely executed independently of duress, to trade my own kidney to a man with a prison shank on the Brooklyn bound L train. Or maybe my lateness is because I thought storing my laptop with Ruairi’s resume in a 30 was a good idea. (ProTip: this is never a good idea) But I digress…

Last weekend, the 21st and 22nd of January, as reported by the Huffington Post, there were four separate subway-related fatalities. Related as in bodies or parts of bodies were found on tracks, platforms and stairs.

If your gore fetish kicks in, you can read a report by first responders about common scenes they encounter arriving at subway related accidents at Gothamist.

Also, if you haven’t been consuming copious amounts of liquid PCP, you will remember the woman who was killed in a horrific elevator accident. (If you’ve missed it, here’s the article from the Times .)

Besides linking real news stories, what’s my point here? I’m not sure, but I’m going to watch my step these days. It’s a dangerous city when you’re avoiding dark alleys at midnight. It’s a scary-as-shit city when the machines you rely on every day are actively trying to cut you in half.

Subway car? Or a vehicle of death?

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

