Coupla New Boner Jams

By Zach

Here’s a few songs from my iTunes recently added queue (which admittedly goes back like four months). Some are newer than others, and they cover a wide variety of genres and styles.

Portugal. The Man

I’ve been perusing the internet for new music the past few days, and along the way I came across the band Portugal. The Man, an alt-rock group from Portland and Wasilla, Alaska (Sarah Palin!). Apparently they learned to slappa da bass in between their presumed daily helicopter wolf-hunts and porch-based Russian coastwatching. I’m not into too many indie/alt-rock bands, but I’m digging their chill, melancholy vibe. They can also switch their sound up a little bit, which is a nice change from a lot of  bands in this genre.

More stuff from their newest album at Big Green Beats.

Nero – Reaching Out (Fred Falke Remix)

Fred Falke does some great remixes. This is one of them.

Medium Troy – Space Tree

Chill song with a trippy feel to it. Brings me back to the days when I knew the horrors of tripping on pot.

Raaban and Evana – Realize (Extended Mix)

God I wish I was still in college. They do not play songs like this one in dive bars in Brooklyn. So I’m left listening to it on the subway with mirages in my head of the hard drugs, dope beats and fast women that defined my St. Lawrence experience.

Doug Bogan – I Can’t Let You Go

While a lot of mashups descend into poorly produced chaos, this one works. Doug Bogan takes verses from some well-known rap songs and puts them over a haunting beat by Araabmuzik.

Tagged , ,

One thought on “Coupla New Boner Jams

  1. Bombs Cummings says:

    look at the video of this vid on utube, it says the style of music is “hip hop apocalypse environmental dubstep reggae rock.”

Leave a Reply

