Thoughts on Paterno’s Death

By Zach

I was going to write a post about Paterno myself, but I saw this post on Barstool and it sums up my feelings on the situation perfectly:

There are two sides of the fence on JoePa dying. You got people making fun of his death like me and then you got people calling me an insensitive asshole and defending the guy. Well here is my question for all the Joe Pa crybabies. If these Sandusky abuse allegations never came to the forefront (and to be honest I’m still not sure why they did) would Paterno have felt any guilt or remorse about sweeping the whole thing under the rug? The answer is an unequivocal no. Dude would still be alive and still be coaching at Penn State. He’d still have his legacy in tact and people would still be comparing him to Gandhi in Happy Valley. The only time he showed any remorse or guilt was after he got caught. And even then he seemed more concerned with his own well being than the victims. Giving speeches, holding pep rallies on his lawn and complaining about the way he was fired. It’s disgusting. That’s why I have no compassion or remorse for him. Joepa doesn’t feel bad about what he let happen to the victims. He feels bad he got caught. That’s why I say fuck him and those who defend him. He put protecting Penn State football and his legacy above protecting kids from a pedophile. How can anybody defend that?

I don’t always like what Pres and his minions write (I think Feitelberg can be pretty funny, though) because it’s often trying too hard to be cool and bro-ish, but he hit the nail on the head here.

I’ve been reading through the comments on the Times’s obituary for Paterno, and it’s really unsettling how many of them are supportive of his role in the scandal. A lot of them attack the Penn State trustees and the media for quickening the pace of his illness, and even more  excuse Paterno for his actions. “He wasn’t a policeman,” they say.

What bullshit. I’m often proud of where our society stands — gays and minorities are slowly becoming more enfranchised, we have a black president, women are expected to work — but the reaction towards Paterno has been an ongoing indictment of our cultural priorities.

Football’s grand tradition has essentially been deemed by millions of Americans as more important than the welfare of young kids. That’s what really weirds me about this whole thing. Paterno deserves only the standard human allotment of sympathy for one who has passed, nothing more.

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

